Together we Observe

9 03 2010

As I am sure many of you have recently seen there was a massive earthquake in Chile. Since I currently live in Chile I have seen a small amount of the chaos, even though the area I am in was not largely affected by it. At the time I was on a trip to visit the observatory at Paranal (unfortunately we didn’t make it, however, the earthquake interrupted our visit) which is far far away from where the epicenter of the earthquake was. Apparently, it was a 2 where we were. I did not feel it.

However, there is one thing that I would like to emphasis in this blog.

Even through all of this I have been extremely impressed with and proud of the people of Chile. This was a major disaster and the people of this country have teamed together and risen to the challenge to help one another and help their country.

An image from "Chile, Three Days Later"

And through all of this I have been even more impressed by the fact that Chileans are still participating in GLOBE at Night. Through all of the craziness, all of the pain and sorrow, these people have risen up to the challenge to help one another and still they have found the time and determination to support GLOBE at Night.

This is the time that we are to observe. Now get out there and join the world.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

